[Skip to content]

João Luís Carrilho da Graça



Read more

João Luís Carrilho da Graça, architect, graduated from ESBAL (Lisbon higher-education school of fine arts) in 1977, the year he initiated his professional activity. He has been lecturer at the faculty of architecture of the Technical University of Lisbon between 1977 and 1992, and professor at the Autonomous University of Lisbon from 2001 to 2010 and at the University of Évora since 2005. He headed the architecture department at both institutions until 2010. He has been invited professor at the Higher Technical School of Architecture of the University of Navarra in 2007 and 2010, and held seminars and conferences at several international universities and institutions.

João Luís Carrilho da Graça has been awarded the title of Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres by the French Republic in 2010; the Pessoa Award in 2008, the Luzboa-Schréder Award in 2004, the Order for merit of the Portuguese Republic in 1999 and the International Art Critics Association Award in 1992.

He has been distinguished with the Piranesi Prix de Rome in 2010 for the Archeological museum of Castelo de São Jorge, the FAD Prize in 1999 and the Valmor Prize in 1998 for the Knowledge of the seas Pavilion at Lisbon Expo ’98; the Secil Prize in 1994 for the School of Communication and Media Studies of the IPL (Lisbon Polytechnic Institute), and the nomination for the Mies van der Rohe European Architecture Award in 1990, 1992, 1994, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Mario Botta



Riccardo Blumer

Italy / Switzerland


Dieter Dietz



Christophe Girot

France / Switzerland


Nicola Navone



Oops! It appears that you have JavaScript disabled. In order to see this page as it is meant to appear, please re-enable JavaScript!