[Skip to content]

Elisa Valero

Winner of the sixth edition 2017-2018

Junya Ishigami

Winner of the fifth edition 2015-2016

José María Sánchez García

Winner of the fourth edition 2013-2014

Studio Mumbai Architects

Winner of the third edition 2011-2012

Diébédo Francis Kéré

Winner of the second edition 2009-2010

Solano Benitez

Winner of the first edition 2007-2008

The Award

The Swiss Architectural Award is promoted by the Swiss Architectural Foundation in association with Università della Svizzera italiana– Accademia di architettura, Mendrisio and with the support of the Fondazione Teatro dell’Architettura and the Fondazione per le Facoltà di Lugano dell’Università della Svizzera italiana.

The award is aimed at recognizing and spotlighting architects from all over the world that, through their own work, have made a significant contribution to contemporary architecture by showing a peculiar sensitivity to the environment.

The prize amounts to 100,000 Swiss francs (CH). Every 2 years, it is awarded to architects aged less than 50 who have realized at least 3 important artworks. An international committee of consultants selected among undeniably famous architects and architecture critics presents candidates to the jury.

The Swiss Architectural Foundation

The Swiss Architectural Foundation – new denomination of the BSI Architectural Foundation – is located in Lugano, at the Università della Svizzera italiana (USI). The foundation is active in the promotion of knowledge, training and research in the architectural field and aims at facilitating the collaboration between Università della Svizzera italiana – Accademia di architettura, Mendrisio and the Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich (Architecture department D-ARCH, ETHZ) and Lausanne (Institut d’Architecture, EPFL).

The Foundation provides for the creation of the Swiss Architectural Award: an international architecture award held every two years, which promotes an architecture that is attentive to the current ethical, aesthetic and environmental issues, thus encouraging public debate.

Charles Kleiber is the chairman of the Foundation.

Oops! It appears that you have JavaScript disabled. In order to see this page as it is meant to appear, please re-enable JavaScript!